Search and Hit Enter

The Peter Porter Poetry Prize 2021

1 October 2020

Who may enter
Entries are welcome from poets anywhere in the world. There is no age limit.

The contest is organised by Australian Book Review.

⌈ The Porter Prize is one of Australia’s most lucrative and respected awards for poetry. It honours the life and work of the great Australian poet Peter Porter (1929–2010), an honoured contributor to ABR for many years. All poets writing in English are eligible to enter. 

Entries must be a single poem of no more than 70 lines, written in English. Poems can be on any subject and in any style.

Poems must not have been previously published.

This year the Peter Porter Poetry Prize will be judged by Lachlan Brown, John Hawke, A Frances Johnson and John Kinsella. For more information see here.

Entries must be submitted online via the ABR website.

Entry fees
Each entry must be accompanied by an entry fee of AU$25, or AU$15 for current ABR subscribers.

The winner will receive AU$6,000.
The other four shortlisted poets will each receive AU$1,000

How to enroll
For further information visit